Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Praise in Which I Live and Move and Have my Being by Paul Durcan

Paul Durcan's twenty-second collection finds Monsieur le Po te on the road in Paris, New York City, Chicago, Brisbane, and Achill Island, meditating upon the sanctuary of home and what it means to feel truly at home.

Regarded by many as the great poet of contemporary Ireland, Durcan is on top form here as he contemplates the fall of the Celtic Tiger, while railing against bankers and 'bonus boys'. There are poems of love lost and won, and poems in memory of friends and relatives who have passed on, but there is also joy to be found in the birth of a grandson, and there is praise, too, for the modest heroism of truckers, air traffic controllers and nurses, those 'slim, sturdy, buxom nourishers' of fallen mankind. If for Sartre 'hell is other people', for Durcan 'heaven is other people, especially women'.

Buy Praise in Which I Live and Move and Have my Being by Paul Durcan from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781846556272
ISBN-10: 1846556279
Format: Hardback
(204mm x 138mm x 20mm)
Pages: 176
Imprint: Harvill Secker
Publisher: Vintage Publishing
Publish Date: 29-Mar-2012
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - Praise in Which I Live and Move and Have my Being by Paul Durcan

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Praise in Which I Live and Move and Have my Being book by Paul Durcan and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Author Biography - Paul Durcan

Paul Durcan was born in Dublin in 1944. His first book, Endsville (1967), has been followed by more than twenty others, including The Berlin Wall Cafe (a Poetry Book Society Choice in 1985), Daddy, Daddy (winner of the Whitbread Award for Poetry in 1990), Crazy About Women (1991), A Snail in My Prime- New and Selected Poems (1993), Give Me Your Hand (1994), Greetings to Our Friends in Brazil (1999), The Art of Life (2004), The Laughter of Mothers (2007), Life is a Dream- 40 Years Reading Poems 1967 2007 (2009), Praise in Which I Live and Move and Have My Being (2012), and The Days of Surprise (2015). In 2001 Paul Durcan received a Cholmondeley Award. He was Ireland Professor of Poetry from 2004 to 2007. He was conferred with a DLitt by Trinity College Dublin in 2009 and by University College Dublin in 2011. In 2014 he was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Irish Book Award. He is a member of Aosd na.

A Preview for this title is currently not available.

Books By Paul Durcan

Days of Surprise by Paul Durcan
Hardback, March 2015
$25.19 $27.99
Art Of Life by Paul Durcan
Paperback / softback, November 2012
$25.10 $27.89
Three European Poets by Paul Durcan
Hardback, November 2017
Life is a Dream by Paul Durcan
Hardback, October 2009
$35.99 $39.99