Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - The Psychology of Time Travel by Kate Mascarenhas

A time travel murder mystery, set in a female-centric alternate world.

A time travel murder mystery from a brilliantly original new voice. Perfect for readers of Naomi Alderman's The Power and Emily St John Mandel's Station Eleven . 1967. Four female scientists invent a time travel machine. They are on the cusp of fame: the pioneers who opened the world to new possibilities. But then one of them suffers a breakdown and puts the whole project in peril... 2017. Ruby knows her beloved Granny Bee was a pioneer, but they never talk about the past. Though time travel is now big business, Bee has never been part of it. Then they receive a message from the future - a newspaper clipping reporting the mysterious death of an elderly lady... 2018. When Odette discovered the body she went into shock. Blood everywhere, bullet wounds, that strong reek of sulphur. But when the inquest fails to find any answers, she is frustrated. Who is this dead woman that haunts her dreams? And why is everyone determined to cover up her murder? What readers are saying: 'A complex murder mystery thriller that offers something new and exciting ... I was gripped! ' ' Fantastic! The plot was hugely thought-provoking and the characters engaging' 'A fascinating, thought-provoking thriller about time travel, murder and a conspiracy that threatens to explode through time'

Buy The Psychology of Time Travel by Kate Mascarenhas from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781788540117
ISBN-10: 1788540115
Format: Paperback / softback
(228mm x 145mm x mm)
Pages: 368
Imprint: Head of Zeus
Publisher: Head of Zeus
Publish Date: 1-Aug-2018
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - The Psychology of Time Travel by Kate Mascarenhas

Book Reviews - The Psychology of Time Travel by Kate Mascarenhas

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Psychology of Time Travel book by Kate Mascarenhas and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Book Review: Psychology of Time Travel by Kate Mascarenhas - Reviewed by (18 Sep 2018)

5 stars The Psychology of Time Travel is the first novel by British psychologist, copywriter, bookbinder, doll’s house maker and author, Kate Mascarenhas. It’s 1967 and Barbara, Grace, Margaret and Lucille are pioneers, building a time machine. Successfully, because these are smart ladies with backgrounds in nuclear fission, cosmology, thermodynamics, and radio waves. But one of their number is adversely affected by their time travels, and is banished from further research.

In mid-2017, psychologist Ruby Rebello is visiting her Grandma Barbara when an anonymous note, folded into an origami rabbit, arrives. The note announces an inquest, in February 2018, into the death of an elderly lady, identity unknown. Barbara immediately recognises it as a message from one of the pioneering time travel team, from whom she has been estranged for some five decades. Ruby has been warned not to mention her grandmother’s time travel, but now Barbara shares her story.

In early 2018, University student Odette Sophola discovers a dead body in a locked room in the basement of a toy museum. It looks like murder, but the door was bolted from inside. Deeply affected by it all, she attends the inquest and is frustrated by the open finding. Despite some effective counselling, she can’t let it go, and is determined to solve this puzzling case.

Mascarenhas easily evokes her settings and time periods, and her characters are believable: mostly appealing for all their faults and flaws, or suitably repugnant when required. Her world building is subtly achieved without any boring information dumps.

A novel about time travel can be expected to jump around in time and, while there is potential for confusion, each chapter is clearly marked with the month and year, as well as the narrative perspective, so as long as the reader pays attention to this, uncertainty is minimal.

As well as a time travel story, Mascarenhas gives the reader an excellent closed-room murder mystery. She also explores the spectrum of mental illnesses that may be exacerbated by time travel, and how these manifest (attitudes to death, in particular, are interesting), the plasticity of memory, the toxic effects of unopposed power, and the tacit approval of hazing that may exist in a large organisation. This is a fascinating and thought-provoking debut novel. Mascarenhas is an author to watch.


Author Biography - Kate Mascarenhas

Kate Mascarenhas is a half-Irish, half-Seychellois midlander. She has worked as a copywriter, an assistant psychologist, and a bookbinder. She lives with her husband in a small terraced house which she is slowly filling with Sindy dolls. This is her first novel.

Customers Also Bought

Boomerang Books customers who bought The Psychology of Time Travel by Kate Mascarenhas also bought the following titles:

Ones You Trust by Caroline Overington
Paperback / softback, August 2018
$26.09 $29.99
On Rage by Germaine Greer
Paperback / softback, September 2018
$13.49 $14.99
Football Solution: How Richmond's premiership can save Australia by George Megalogenis
Paperback / softback, July 2018
$28.70 $32.99
On Rape by Germaine Greer
Paperback / softback, September 2018
$13.04 $14.99

Books By Kate Mascarenhas

Psychology of Time Travel by Kate Mascarenhas
Hardback, August 2018
$29.39 $32.66
The Psychology of Time Travel by Kate Mascarenhas
Paperback / softback, March 2019
$17.99 $19.99