Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

sign up for Boomerang Books BulletinGet Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - Rhiannon of the Spring by Allan Frewin Jones

YOU CAN BE A WARRIOR IF YOU CHOOSE TO BE ...Fifteen-year-old Branwen's life is changed for ever when enemy Saxon troops attack her homeland and kill her brother. Branwen is ready to jump into action and avenge her brother's death , but instead she is sent to a neighbouring village, safe out of harm's way. Yet while she is surrounded by exquisite luxury in her new home - as a princess should be - she feels different from other girls. Branwen has the soul of a warrior. Then a mystical woman in white foretells a daunting prophecy that Branwen will be the one to save her homeland. With no time to lose, Branwen must make a choice: continue in the path her parents set for her ...or step into the role of a true warrior princess.

Buy Rhiannon of the Spring by Allan Frewin Jones from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780340999387
ISBN-10: 0340999381
Format: Paperback
(199mm x 131mm x 25mm)
Pages: 368
Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Publisher: Hachette Children's Group
Publish Date: 10-Dec-2009
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - Rhiannon of the Spring by Allan Frewin Jones

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Rhiannon of the Spring book by Allan Frewin Jones and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Book Review: Rhiannon of the Spring by Allan Frewin Jones - Reviewed by (18 Jul 2011)

When Branwen was little her brother Geraint would tell her old nursery stories of Pooka's and Coblyn's and Gwyllion's. When she was little he told her stories of the Shining Ones. They were the Old Gods, the forgotten Gods, and it was forbidden to talk of them.

When Branwen was younger her brother Geraint gave her a slingshot that she taught herself to use and to hunt with. When she was younger he taught her to handle a sword if ever she had a need to defend herself. However these lessons were always with swords of wood and always held in secret.

Now Branwen had watched as her brother Geraint displayed bravery and courage when faced with the enemy. She stood and watched as he was killed, she stood and did nothing. But what could she have done against a band of armed men, she was after all still a child.

Sent far from home to an unfriendly place with strange customs, Branwen stumbles upon a grove, a place once held sacred but now believed haunted. Here a choice must be made, follow her duty and her parents' wished to a loveless marriage far from her home, or follow her destiny and the wild and pitiless Old Magic of Rhiannon, a Shining One, to an unknown future as a warrior.

Rhiannon of the Spring has returned to save a land in danger. Warrior Princess Branwen must learn to cope with grief and loss as she makes a choice between her duty to others and following her own heart. A fantasy adventure based on Welsh mythology, this is a journey of discovering belief in oneself and about standing up for what is right, even if you stand alone. Do not be put off by the cheesy description of this book; what's inside is well worth the read.

Author Biography - Allan Frewin Jones

Frewin Jones has always believed in the existence of 'other worlds'. In the Mortal World, Frewin lives in southeast London with a mystical cat called Siouxsie Sioux.

Books By Allan Frewin Jones

Little Sister 10: Summer Camp by Allan Frewin Jones
Paperback, July 1996
Little Sister 8 - Bad Boy by Allan Frewin Jones
Paperback, March 1996
Stacy the Matchmaker by Allan Frewin Jones
Paperback, July 1998
My Sister, My Slave by Allan Frewin Jones
Paperback, May 1998