We are open! For operations and delivery updates due to COVID-19. (click here)

Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Ribbons Of Grace B Fmt by Maxine Alterio

A gripping story of love and deception on the Otago Gold Fields of nineteenth-century New Zealand.

Arrowtown, a goldfield settlement with an explosive mix of inhabitants, is the scene of an unlikely love story.

Ming Yuet, a young Chinese woman seeking riches disguises herself as a male miner and comes to the goldfields, where she meets Conran, an Orcadian stonemason escaping a family tragedy. A secret love affair develops amidst suspicion, fear and hostility, culminating in an act of violence that irrevocably shatters the lives of those involved.

Maxine Alterio's beautiful novel about love, forgiveness, alienation and friendship moves between past and present, homeland and adopted country, and from the living to the deceased . . .

Buy Ribbons Of Grace B Fmt by Maxine Alterio from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780143009306
ISBN-10: 0143009303
Format: Paperback / softback
(198mm x 130mm x 20mm)
Pages: 272
Imprint: Penguin Books (NZ)
Publisher: Penguin Group (NZ)
Publish Date: 14-Feb-2008
Country of Publication: New Zealand

Book Reviews - Ribbons Of Grace B Fmt by Maxine Alterio

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Ribbons Of Grace B Fmt book by Maxine Alterio and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Author Biography - Maxine Alterio

Dr Maxine Alterio is a novelist, short story writer and narrative-based educator and mentor. She graduated from the University of Otago with a Master of Arts in Education and from the International Institute of Modern Letters, Victoria University of Wellington, with a PhD in Creative Writing. Her first novel Ribbons of Grace was published by Penguin in 2007, followed by Lives we Leave Behind in 2012. Her first fiction collection Live News and Other Stories was published in 2005, and her short stories have appeared in anthologies and been broadcast on national radio. Winner of the 2013 Seresin Landfall/Otago University Press Residency, Maxine is currently working on a second fiction collection and undertaking research for her third novel.

A Preview for this title is currently not available.