Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Russia by Martin Sixsmith

"The definitive history of Russia and its people, to accompany the landmark BBC Radio 4 series."

"Russia is a country of contradictions- a nation of cultural refinement and artistic originality and yet also a country that rules by 'the iron fist'. In this riveting history, Martin Sixsmith shows how Russia's complex identity has been formed over a thousand years, and how it can help us understand its often baffling behaviour at home and abroad. Combining in-depth research and interviews with his personal experiences as a former BBC Moscow correspondent, Sixsmith skilfully traces the conundrums of modern Russia to their roots in its troubled past, and explains the nation's seemingly split personality as the result of influences that have divided it for centuries. A Sunday Times bestseller, Russia is essential reading for anyone who wants to understand the complex political landscape of this country, and its unique place in the modern world."

Buy Russia by Martin Sixsmith from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781849900737
ISBN-10: 1849900736
Format: Paperback / softback
(198mm x 126mm x 40mm)
Pages: 624
Imprint: BBC Books
Publisher: Ebury Publishing
Publish Date: 1-Mar-2012
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - Russia by Martin Sixsmith

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Russia book by Martin Sixsmith and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Author Biography - Martin Sixsmith

Martin Sixsmith studied at Oxford, Harvard and the Sorbonne. From 1980 to 1997 he was the BBC correspondent in Moscow, Washington, Brussels and Warsaw. From 1997 to 2002 he worked for the Government as Director of Communications and Press Secretary to Harriet Harman, Alistair Darling and Stephen Byers. He is now a writer, presenter and journalist. He has written two novels, Spin and I Heard Lenin Laugh, and is the author of three non-fiction titles - Moscow Coup- The Death of the Soviet System, The Litvinenko File- The True Story of a Death Foretold and The Lost Child of Philomena Lee- A Mother, Her Son and a Fifty Year Search. He lives in London.

A Preview for this title is currently not available.