Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

sign up for Boomerang Books BulletinGet Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - Serial Composition and Atonality by George Perle

Widely recognized as the definitive work in its field ever since its original publication in 1962, Serial Composition and Atonality remains an unsurpassed introduction to the technical features of what is probably the most revolutionary body of work since the beginnings of polyphony. In the analysis of specific compositions there is first and last of all a concern with the musical surface--an attempt to trace connections and distinctions there before offering any deeper-level constructions, and to offer none where their effects are not obvious on more immediate levels of musical experience. In this sixth edition of the book, George Perle employs the new and more consistent terminology for the identification of transpositional levels of twelve-tone sets that he first proposed in Twelve-Tone Tonality (1977).

Buy Serial Composition and Atonality by George Perle from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780520074309
ISBN-10: 0520074300
Format: Hardback
(260mm x 178mm x mm)
Pages: 178
Imprint: University of California Press
Publisher: University of California Press
Publish Date: 1-Jul-1992
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - Serial Composition and Atonality by George Perle

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Serial Composition and Atonality book by George Perle and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - George Perle

George Perle, one of this country's most respected composers, theorists, and critics, is the winner of the Pulitzer Prize in music and a MacArthur Foundation Fellowship. His writings on twentieth-century music include The Listening Composer (1990), The Operas of Alban Berg (1980, 1984), and Twelve-Tone Tonality (1977), all available from the University of California Press.

Books By George Perle

Twelve-Tone Tonality, Second edition by George Perle
Hardback, July 1996
$113.52 $129.00
The Operas of Alban Berg by George Perle
Paperback, July 1992
$56.32 $64.00
Right Notes by George Perle
Hardback, May 1995
Listening Composer by George Perle
Paperback, December 1996
$50.15 $56.99