0

Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Shadowfell by Juliet Marillier

The first book in the Shadowfell trilogy from the acclaimed author of the Sevenwaters series

"An exquisitely written tale of love, fear, faith and difficult choices ... Marillier is a consummate craftswoman." Sydney Morning Herald

The people of Alban are afraid.

The tyrannical king and his masked Enforcers are scouring the land, burning villages and enslaving the canny.
Fifteen-year-old Neryn has fled her home in the wake of its destruction, and is alone and penniless, hiding her extraordinary magical power. She can rely on no one - not even the elusive Good Folk who challenge and bewilder her with their words.

When an enigmatic stranger saves her life, Neryn and the young man called Flint begin an uneasy journey together. She wants to trust Flint but how can she tell who is true in this land of evil?

For Neryn has heard whisper of a mysterious place far away: a place where rebels are amassing to free the land and end the King's reign.

A place called Shadowfell.

A story of courage, hope, danger and love from one of the most compelling fantasy storytellers writing today.

"A new book by Juliet Marillier is always a cause for celebration" Kate Forsyth

Winner of the Tin Duck Award for Speculative Fiction

Finalist in the Sir Julius Vogel Awards

Fans of Marion Zimmer Bradley, Isobelle Carmody and Robin Hobb will love Juliet Marillier.

Buy Shadowfell by Juliet Marillier from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781742611341
ISBN-10: 1742611346
Format: Paperback / softback
(198mm x 132mm x 20mm)
Pages: 360
Imprint: Pan Australia
Publisher: Pan Macmillan Australia
Publish Date: 1-Jul-2012
Country of Publication: Australia

Book Reviews - Shadowfell by Juliet Marillier

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Shadowfell book by Juliet Marillier and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Book Review: Shadowfell by Juliet Marillier - Reviewed by (29 Aug 2012)

Alban is a land of great danger and sorrow. The people of Alban live in fear, fear of the raids that separate families, fear of the fires that destroy homes, and fear of the Enforcers who commit these acts in the name of the King. The old ways are being shunned, outlawed, anyone thought to be different is taken to serve the King, and any who refused or speak out against the injustices are quickly silenced for good.

At fifteen, Neryn has already been a victim of the King's rule having lost her grandmother in a raid and her village in a fire. But as one of the canny Neryn will never be safe from the Enforcers who hunt her. Left alone in the world with no family and no place that is safe for her; Neryn follows the only path she can to a place of safety that may not even exist, to Shadowfell.

Despite her connection to the Good Folk and the help they can provide, Neryn encounters many trials and hardships on her journey to find a safe haven. Even as the Enforcers track her every movement and the Good Folk follow her every step, she is challenged by her desire to find safety and a hope for the future. In a land where kindness and generosity are rare, Neryn discovers that the hardest lessons learnt are the most important.

Shadowfell is the only hope for a land in turmoil, the only safe place for a girl on the run. More then a story of one girls journey across a hostile land, this is a timeless tale of a life, love, friendships, hopes and fears. A beautiful and magical new series that introduces you to a world both cruel and kind, with characters as complex as they are intriguing. A story that will touch your heart.


Author Biography - Juliet Marillier

Juliet Marillier was born in Dunedin, New Zealand, a town with strong Scottish roots. She graduated from Otago University with degrees in arts and music, and has had a varied career which included teaching and performing music as well as working in government agencies. Juliet now lives in a hundred-year-old cottage near the river in Perth, Western Australia, where she writes full-time. She is a member of the druid order OBOD. Juliet shares her home with three dogs and a cat.

A Preview for this title is currently not available.