Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - The Solar Tachocline by D. W. Hughes

Helioseismology has enabled us to probe the internal structure and dynamics of the Sun, including how its rotation varies in the solar interior. The unexpected discovery of an abrupt transition - the tachocline - between the differentially rotating convection zone and the uniformly rotating radiative interior has generated considerable interest and raised many fundamental issues. This volume contains invited reviews from distinguished speakers at the first meeting devoted to the tachocline, held at the Isaac Newton Institute. It provides a comprehensive account of the understanding of the properties and dynamics of the tachocline, including both observational results and major theoretical issues, involving both hydrodynamic and magnetohydrodynamic behaviour. The Solar Tachocline is a valuable reference for researchers and graduate students in astrophysics, heliospheric physics and geophysics, and the dynamics of fluids and plasmas.

Buy The Solar Tachocline by D. W. Hughes from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780521861014
ISBN-10: 0521861012
Format: Hardback
(244mm x 170mm x 22mm)
Pages: 382
Imprint: Cambridge University Press
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publish Date: 31-May-2007
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - The Solar Tachocline by D. W. Hughes

Book Reviews - The Solar Tachocline by D. W. Hughes

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Solar Tachocline book by D. W. Hughes and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Author Biography - D. W. Hughes

David Hughes is Professor of Applied Mathematics at the University of Leeds. Robert Rosner is William E. Wrather Distinguished Service Professor at the University of Chicago, and Director of Argonne National Laboratory. Nigel Weiss is Emeritus Professor of Mathematical Astrophysics at the University of Cambridge.