We are open! For operations and delivery updates due to COVID-19. (click here)
0

Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Spin the Dawn by Elizabeth Lim

A tailor in disguise. Three legendary dresses. The competition of a lifetime.

'An amazing creation!' Tamora Pierce, #1 New York Times bestselling author

Project Runway meets Mulan in this sweeping fantasy about a young girl who poses as a boy to compete for the role of imperial tailor and embarks on an impossible journey to sew three magic dresses, from the sun, the moon, and the stars.

On the fringes of the Great Spice Road, Maia Tamarin dreams of becoming the greatest tailor in the land - but as a girl, the best she can hope for is to marry well. Then a royal messenger summons her ailing father to court, and Maia seizes her chance. Disguised as a man, she travels to the Summer Palace in her father's place to compete for the emperor's favour, and the coveted position of imperial tailor.

If Maia's ruse is discovered, her life will be forfeit. But if she wins, she will achieve her greatest dream.

Yet nothing could have prepared her for the challenge ahead: to sew three magic gowns for the emperor's bride-to-be. One from the laughter of the sun, one from the tears of the moon, and one from the blood of stars.

Accompanied by the mysterious court enchanter, whose piercing eyes seem to see straight through her disguise, Maia's journey will take her to the far reaches of the kingdom, seeking the sun, the moon, and the stars, and finding more than she ever could have imagined.

Steeped in Chinese culture, sizzling with forbidden romance, and shimmering with magic, this young adult fantasy is pitch-perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas or Renee Ahdieh.

Praise for Spin the Dawn

'Looking for your next big YA fantasy series? We've got our eye on this stylist blockbuster' Entertainment Weekly

'Spin the Dawn is proof that casting a wider net not only gives us a fresh story that feels unlike everything else on the shelves beside it but also allows for richer and more nuanced storytelling' NPR

'All the cutthroat competition of a runway fashion reality show and the thrilling exploits of an epic quest . . . a stunning tapestry of adventure' The Washington Post

Buy Spin the Dawn by Elizabeth Lim from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781529362909
Format: Paperback / softback
(198mm x 129mm x mm)
Pages: 416
Imprint: Hodder Paperback
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Publish Date: 4-Mar-2021
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - Spin the Dawn by Elizabeth Lim

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Spin the Dawn book by Elizabeth Lim and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)


A Preview for this title is currently not available.