We are open! For operations and delivery updates due to COVID-19. (click here)
0

Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Super Boys by Brad Ricca

In the vein of Schulz and Peanuts, the first comprehensive literary biography of Joe Shuster and Jerry Siegel, creators of Superman and the inspiration for Michael Chabon's Kavalier and Clay. Drawing on ten years of research in the trenches of Cleveland libraries, boarded-up high schools, and secret, private collections, Brad Ricca's Super Boys is the first ever full biography about Superman's creators. Among scores of new discoveries, the book reveals the first stories and pictures ever published by the two, where the first Superman story really came from, the real inspiration for Lois Lane, the template for Superman's costume, and much, much more. Super Boys also tracks the boys' unknown, often mysterious lives after they left Superman, including Siegel's secret work during World War II and never-before-seen work from Shuster. Super Boys explains, finally, what exactly happened with the infamous check for $130 that pulled Superman away from his creators - and gave control of the character to the publisher. Ricca also uncovers the true nature of Jerry's father's death, a crime that has always remained a mystery. Super Boys is the story of a long friendship between boys who grew to be men and the standard that would be impossible for both of them to live up to.

Buy Super Boys by Brad Ricca from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781250049681
ISBN-10: 1250049687
Format: Paperback / softback
(209mm x 139mm x 31mm)
Pages: 464
Imprint: St Martin's Press
Publisher: St Martin's Press
Publish Date: 26-Jun-2014
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - Super Boys by Brad Ricca

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Super Boys book by Brad Ricca and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)


Author Biography - Brad Ricca

Brad Ricca earned his Ph.D. in English from Case Western Reserve University where he currently teaches. He has spoken on comics at various schools and museums, and he has been interviewed about comics topics by The New York Daily News, The Wall Street Journal, and All Things Considered on NPR. His film Last Son won a 2010 Silver Ace Award at the Las Vegas International Film Festival. He lives in Cleveland, Ohio.

A Preview for this title is currently not available.