Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Swedish Cops - from Sjawall & Wahlaa to Stieg Larsson by Michael Tapper

Michael Tapper considers Swedish culture and ideas from the period 1965 to 2012 as expressed in detective fiction and film in the tradition of Maj Sjowall and Per Wahloo. Believing the Swedish police narrative tradition to be part and parcel of the European history of ideas and culture, Tapper argues that, from being feared and despised, the police emerged as heroes and part of the modern social project of the welfare state after World War II. Establishing themselves artistically and commercially in the forefront of the genre, Sjowall and Wahloo constructed a model for using the police novel as an instrument for ideological criticism of the social democratic government and its welfare state project. With varying political affiliations, their model has been adapted by authors such as Leif G. W. Persson, Jan Guillou, Henning Mankell, Hakan Nesser, Anders Roslund and Borge Hellstrom, and Stieg Larsson, and in film series such as Beck and Wallander. The first book of its kind about Swedish crime fiction, Swedish Cops is just as thrilling as the novels and films it analyzes.

Buy Swedish Cops - from Sjawall & Wahlaa to Stieg Larsson by Michael Tapper from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781783201884
ISBN-10: 1783201886
Format: Paperback / softback
(228mm x 174mm x 24mm)
Pages: 335
Imprint: Intellect Books
Publisher: Intellect Books
Publish Date: 16-May-2014
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - Swedish Cops - from Sjawall & Wahlaa to Stieg Larsson by Michael Tapper

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Swedish Cops - from Sjawall & Wahlaa to Stieg Larsson book by Michael Tapper and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)


Author Biography - Michael Tapper

Michael Tapper teaches film at Lund University. He has been a contributor to the Swedish National Encyclopaedia since 1989 and has served as film critic at the daily Sydsvenska Dagbladet in Malmo, Sweden, since 1999.

Books By Michael Tapper

Ingmar Bergman's Face to Face by Michael Tapper
Paperback / softback, September 2017
$52.19 $57.99