Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - Sword and Verse by Kathy MacMillan

In a sweeping fantasy that award-winning author Franny Billingsley called "fascinating and unique," debut author Kathy MacMillan weaves palace intrigue and epic world building to craft a tale for fans of Rae Carson and Megan Whalen Turner.Raisa was just a child when she was sold into slavery in the kingdom of Qilara. Before she was taken away, her father had been adamant that she learn to read and write. But where she now lives, literacy is a capital offense for all but the nobility. The written language is closely protected, and only the King, Prince, Tutor, and Tutor-in-training are allowed to learn its very highest form. So when she is plucked from her menial labor and selected to replace the last Tutor-in-training, who was executed, Raisa knows that betraying any hint of her past could mean death.Keeping her secret guarded is hard enough, but the romance that's been blossoming between her and Prince Mati isn't helping matters. Then Raisa is approached by the Resistance-an underground rebel army-to help liberate the city's slaves. She wants to free her people, but that would mean aiding a war against Mati. As Raisa struggles with what to do, she discovers a secret that the Qilarites have been hiding for centuries-one that, if uncovered, could bring the kingdom to its knees.

Buy Sword and Verse by Kathy MacMillan from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780062324610
ISBN-10: 0062324616
Format: Hardback
(210mm x 140mm x mm)
Pages: 384
Imprint: HarperTeen
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Inc
Publish Date: 19-Jan-2016
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions - Sword and Verse by Kathy MacMillan

Book Reviews - Sword and Verse by Kathy MacMillan

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Sword and Verse book by Kathy MacMillan and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review


Author Biography - Kathy MacMillan

Kathy MacMillan has been a librarian, American Sign Language interpreter, children's performer, teacher, storyteller, and writer. Her previous work includes educator- and parent-resource books about promoting literacy through signing with all children. Sword and Verse was inspired by her research into ancient libraries and her interest in exploring the power of language. Kathy lives in Owings Mills, Maryland, with her husband and son.

Books By Kathy MacMillan

Little Hands & Big Hands by Kathy MacMillan
Paperback, October 2013
$28.76