Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - Symphony by Jude Morgan

"A deeply empathic exploration of obsession and art, genius and madness. . . . Morgan's ability to bring each character to life is virtuosic." --The Washington Post Book WorldIn 1827 Harriet Smithson, a beautiful young Irish actress, determined to avoid the traditional route to stardom via the manager's bed, joins an English company in the bold experiment of taking Shakespeare to Paris.With the ferment of revolution in the air, the new generation is longing for passionate, spontaneous art. And to Harriet's astonishment, it is embodied in her--La Belle Irlandaise. In the midst of this frenzy she finds herself pursued by a strange, intense young composer named Hector Berlioz. So begins a painful and profound love affair. She is his muse; his idee fixe; his obsession. And Berlioz's Symphonie Fantastique, directly inspired by Harriet, will change music forever.

Buy Symphony by Jude Morgan from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780312384784
ISBN-10: 0312384785
Format: Paperback / softback
(140mm x 216mm x 23mm)
Imprint: Griffin
Publisher: Griffin
Publish Date: 9-Dec-2008
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - Symphony by Jude Morgan

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Symphony book by Jude Morgan and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Jude Morgan

Jude Morgan, who studied writing with Malcolm Bradbury and Angela Carter, lives in Peterborough, England.

Books By Jude Morgan

Secret Life of William Shakespeare by Jude Morgan
Paperback, September 2012
Little Folly by Jude Morgan
Paperback, December 2010
Taste of Sorrow by Jude Morgan
Paperback, April 2010
Accomplished Woman by Jude Morgan
Paperback, February 2008