0

Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - The Bobby Girls: Book One in a gritty, uplifting new WW1 series about Britain's first ever female police officers by Johanna Bell

'Johanna Bell has hit the jackpot with this striking WW1 story' - Jenny Holmes, author of The Spitfire Girls

1914. While their men fight in France, at home in Britain women are finally seizing the opportunity to make a difference . . .

Maggie and her new friends Annie, Irene and Sarah come from very different backgrounds, but they've got one thing in common: they've all signed up for the Women Police Volunteers. They can't wait to show the men just what they're made of.

But soon, Maggie realises she's in over her head. Hiding her involvement with the WPV from her tyrannous father is becoming ever more difficult, and when she bumps into an old acquaintance with a big chip on his shoulder, the dangers of her new life become all too clear . . .

As Maggie and the girls work together to find their feet on the beat, will their friendship get her through the darkest of times?

A gritty, uplifting new saga series about the first ever female police officers, set at the outbreak of the First World War - perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Daisy Styles and Call the Midwife.

Praise for THE BOBBY GIRLS:

Filled with richly drawn characters that leap from the page, and a plot that's so well researched and well written you will believe you are in the thick of wartime policing, The Bobby Girls is a must-read for all saga fans.' - Fiona Ford, bestselling author of Christmas at Liberty's

'I really enjoyed reading about Britain's first female police officers. A lot of research has gone into this book and it's all the richer and more readable for it. An exciting new voice in women's fiction.' - Kate Thompson, bestselling author of Secrets of the Singer Girls

'I really did enjoy The Bobby Girls. It has a lovely warm feeling about it and is excellently written.' - Maureen Lee, RNA award-winning author of Dancing in the Dark

'A well-researched and interesting story giving a great insight into early women's policing.' - Anna Jacobs, bestselling author of the Ellindale series

'Written with warmth and compassion, the novel gives fascinating insights into the lives of three courageous young women.' - Margaret Kaine, RNA award-winning author of Ring of Clay

'Johanna Bell has hit the jackpot with this striking WW1 story. The author places the focus firmly on the girls' growth into independent members of society in a rapidly changing world. It's a heartening central message conveyed with

Buy The Bobby Girls: Book One in a gritty, uplifting new WW1 series about Britain's first ever female police officers by Johanna Bell from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781529330854
Format: Paperback / softback
(196mm x 128mm x 26mm)
Pages: 336
Imprint: Hodder Paperback
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Publish Date: 26-Dec-2019
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - The Bobby Girls: Book One in a gritty, uplifting new WW1 series about Britain's first ever female police officers by Johanna Bell

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about The Bobby Girls: Book One in a gritty, uplifting new WW1 series about Britain's first ever female police officers book by Johanna Bell and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)


A Preview for this title is currently not available.