0

Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - The Cottingley Cuckoo by A.J. Elwood

The Cottingley Cuckoo is a gripping and disturbing gothic in the vein of Stacey Halls, Laura Purcell and Andrew Michael Hurley. Elwood combines an eerie past with prescient modern day concerns about pregnancy and childbirth in this atmospheric tale; one that will gradually creep it's way inside your soul...

Captivated by books and stories, Rose dreams of a more fulfilled life, away from the confines of the Sunnyside Care Home where she works to support herself and her boyfriend. She hopes the situation will be short term.

Charlotte Favell, an elderly resident, takes a strange, sinister interest in Rose, but offers an unexpected glimpse of enchantment. She has a mysterious and aged stack of letters about the Cottingley Fairies, the photographs made famous by Arthur Conan Doyle, but later dismissed as a hoax. The author of the letters insists he has proof that the fairies exist; Rose is eager to learn more, but Charlotte only allows her to read on when she sees fit.

Discovering she is unexpectedly pregnant, Rose feels another door to the future has slammed. The letters' content grows more menacing, inexplicable events begin to occur inside her home, and Rose begins to entertain dark thoughts about her baby and its origins. Can this simply be depression? Or is something darker taking root?

Buy The Cottingley Cuckoo by A.J. Elwood from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781789096859
Format: Paperback / softback
(198mm x 130mm x mm)
Pages: 368
Imprint: Titan Books Ltd
Publisher: Titan Books Ltd
Publish Date: 14-Apr-2021
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - The Cottingley Cuckoo by A.J. Elwood

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about The Cottingley Cuckoo book by A.J. Elwood and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)


A Preview for this title is currently not available.