We are open! For operations and delivery updates due to COVID-19. (click here)
0

Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - The French Gift by Kirsty Manning

'Kirsty Manning has delivered yet again with this epic novel about women, love and heartbreak. With passion and sensitivity, Manning takes the reader on a journey that is near-impossible to tear yourself away from. Without a doubt her finest work. A triumph!' Sally Hepworth, author of The Good Sister

A forgotten manuscript threatens to unravel the past ...

Fresnes Prison, 1940: Margot Bisset, a former maid from the Riviera, finds herself in a prison cell with writer and French Resistance fighter, Josephine Murant. Together, they are transferred to a work camp in Germany, where the secrets they share will bind them for generations to come.

Present-day Paris: Evie Black lives above her botanical bookshop with her teenage son, Hugo. Nursing a broken heart, Evie receives an unexpected letter; she clutches at an opportunity to spend a magical summer with Hugo on the Cote d'Azur.

It's here, on the Riviera, that the past envelops them and Evie attempts to unravel the official story of a famous novelist. If she succeeds, a murder from a lifetime ago may be solved.

Inspired by a true story of iconic French Resistance fighter, Agnes Humbert, whose secret journal shed light on a little-known aspect of World War II, The French Gift will captivate readers from beginning to unforgettable end.

Praise for The Lost Jewels:

'A tale of transferred wealth, power, and passion, Manning's novel will appeal to fans of Penny Vincenzi, Paula McLain, and Elizabeth Kostova.' Booklist

'An historical fiction author whose stories travel and touch the world.' Heather Morris, author of The Tattooist of Auschwitz

'Effortless flitting from one epoch to another underpin Kirsty Manning's cut-above historical fiction novels.' Australian Women's Weekly

Buy The French Gift by Kirsty Manning from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781760528096
Format: Paperback / softback
(234mm x 153mm x mm)
Pages: 328
Imprint: Allen & Unwin
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Publish Date: 30-Mar-2021
Country of Publication: Australia

Book Reviews - The French Gift by Kirsty Manning

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about The French Gift book by Kirsty Manning and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)


A Preview for this title is currently not available.