We are open but due to high demand and courier delays, delivery times are expected to be longer.
0

Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - The Girl Behind the Gates: The gripping, heart-breaking historical bestseller based on a true story by Brenda Davies

Perfect for fans of THE GIRL IN THE LETTER and PHILOMENA, this gripping, heartbreaking novel based on a true story will grab hold of your heart and never let go.

1939. Seventeen-year-old Nora Jennings has spent her life secure and sheltered in the certainty of a bright, happy future - until one night of passion has more catastrophic consequences than she ever could have anticipated. Labelled a moral defective and sectioned under the Mental Deficiency Act, she is forced to endure years of unspeakable cruelty at the hands of those who are supposed to care for her.

1981. When psychiatrist Janet Humphreys comes across Nora, heavily institutionalised and still living in the hospital more than forty years after her incarceration, she knows that she must be the one to help Nora rediscover what it is to live. But as she works to help Nora overcome her tragic past, Janet realises she must finally face her own.

Based on a true story, TH GIRL BEHIND THE GATES is the raw, heart-breaking yet ultimately uplifting tale of a young woman cut down in her prime, and of the woman who finally brings her back to life.

Buy The Girl Behind the Gates: The gripping, heart-breaking historical bestseller based on a true story by Brenda Davies from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781529374544
Format: Paperback / softback
(196mm x 128mm x 26mm)
Pages: 352
Imprint: Hodder Paperback
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Publish Date: 23-Jul-2020
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - The Girl Behind the Gates: The gripping, heart-breaking historical bestseller based on a true story by Brenda Davies

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about The Girl Behind the Gates: The gripping, heart-breaking historical bestseller based on a true story book by Brenda Davies and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)


A Preview for this title is currently not available.