We are open! For operations and delivery updates due to COVID-19. (click here)
0

Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - The Good Turn by Dervla McTiernan

'With her third novel Dervla McTiernan confirms she's a born storyteller' Val McDermid

The unputdownable no.1 bestseller from the author of The Ruin and The Scholar.

Police corruption, an investigation that ends in tragedy and the mystery of a little girl's silence - three unconnected events that will prove to be linked by one small town.

While Detective Cormac Reilly faces enemies at work and trouble in his personal life, Garda Peter Fisher is relocated out of Galway with the threat of prosecution hanging over his head. But even that is not as terrible as having to work for his overbearing father, the local copper for the pretty seaside town of Roundstone.

For some, like Anna and her young daughter Tilly, Roundstone is a refuge from trauma. But even this village on the edge of the sea isn't far enough to escape from the shadows of evil men.

PRAISE FOR DERVLA McTIERNAN:

'Intelligent and fast-paced ... We can't wait [for the next case]' - Wall Street Journal

'Top-notch crime writing' - Kate Forsyth

'Like The Ruin, The Scholar is a fast-paced, rewarding read' - Irish Examiner

'A truly fine police procedural that should see the author rocket from star to superstar' - Irish Independent

'Taut, tense and darkly addictive' - Candice Fox

'Confirms McTiernan's place in the top rank of crime writers' - Chris Hammer

'The Ruin was an outstanding debut but The Scholar proves beyond a doubt that Dervla McTiernan is a remarkable talent ... crime fiction of the highest standard' - Jane Casey

'A story that is as moving as it is fast-paced' - Val McDermid

'A writer to watch' - Publishers Weekly

'Dervla McTiernan's first novel far outclasses some of the genre's stalwarts, marking her as a crime writer to watch, and Cormac Reilly a cop to follow to hell and back. Fans of Ian Rankin and Tana French will feel right at home' - Bookseller + Publisher

Buy The Good Turn by Dervla McTiernan from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781460756799
Format: Paperback / softback
(235mm x 154mm x 30mm)
Imprint: HarperCollins Publishers (Australia) Pty Ltd
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers (Australia) Pty Ltd
Publish Date: 24-Feb-2020
Country of Publication: Australia

Book Reviews - The Good Turn by Dervla McTiernan

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about The Good Turn book by Dervla McTiernan and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Book Review: The Good Turn by Dervla McTiernan - Reviewed by (21 Mar 2020)

5 stars The Good Turn is the third novel in the Cormac Reilly series by Irish-born Australian author, Dervla McTiernan. Does it start with the abduction of a girl walking her dog, witnessed by a young boy from his sickbed? Or does that incident just kick off something that has been coming since Detective Inspector Cormac Reilly first arrived at Mill Street Garda Station in Galway?

After a shooting that sees him under threat of prosecution and jail, Detective Peter Fisher is transferred to the village of Roundstone to work under the guidance Garda Sergeant Desmond Fisher, his (not beloved) father. Will it save his career? He is ordered to sort out the paperwork on a double murder that has been attributed to Dublin gangs, but his training under Cormac Reilly doesn’t let him rubber-stamp it when he sees discrepancies.

Distracting Peter too, is the sudden deterioration of his grandmother Maggie’s health, but at least now he can regularly check on her. Peter is initially wary of Anna Collins, the young mother of nine-year-old Tilly, whom Des seems to have installed to care for Maggie. It’s hardly his style to bother about her.

The same shooting incident sees Cormac Reilly suspended from duty, and he quickly concludes that what has been happening at the Garda Station is part of a much bigger picture, one that points to widespread Garda corruption involving drug trafficking. But from the outside, what can Cormac do? Emma strongly feels it’s time he abandoned the job in which his superiors frustrate him at every turn, but being a garda, and a good one, is in Cormac’s blood.

Yet again, McTiernan gives the reader a terrific dose of fast-paced crime fiction: an excellent plot, twists and red herrings to keep the reader guessing, an exciting climax and a very satisfying resolution. With each instalment, she develops her regular characters a little further and adds new ones. More of Cormac and co will definitely be welcome. Or anything else this talented author might like to turn her hand to. This is Irish crime fiction at its best.


A Preview for this title is currently not available.