We are open but due to high demand and courier delays, delivery times are expected to be longer.
0

Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - The Library of Ice: Readings from a Cold Climate by Nancy Campbell

'A wonderful book: Nancy Campbell is a fine storyteller with a rare physical intelligence. The extraordinary brilliance of her eye confers the reader a total immersion in the rimy realms she explores. Glaciers, Arctic floe, verglas, frost and snow - I can think of no better or warmer guide to the icy ends of the Earth' Dan Richards, author of Climbing Days
A vivid and perceptive book combining memoir, scientific and cultural history with a bewitching account of landscape and place, which will appeal to readers of Robert Macfarlane, Roger Deakin and Olivia Laing.

Long captivated by the solid yet impermanent nature of ice, by its stark, rugged beauty, acclaimed poet and writer Nancy Campbell sets out from the world's northernmost museum - at Upernavik in Greenland - to explore it in all its facets. From the Bodleian Library archives to the traces left by the great polar expeditions, from remote Arctic settlements to the ice houses of Calcutta, she examines the impact of ice on our lives at a time when it is itself under threat from climate change.

The Library of Ice is a fascinating and beautifully rendered evocation of the interplay of people and their environment on a fragile planet, and of a writer's quest to define the value of her work in a disappearing landscape.

'The writer and poet offers reflections on ice and snow that draw on art, science and history... a dreamlike book.' - The Guardian

'It is a sparkling and wonderful meditation on a substance we must cherish' - The Independent

'It is a pleasant brew infused with elements not only of travel and history, but also of memoir and personal reflection'- Literary Review

'Ms Campbell, a penniless but intrepid traveller, braves miserable bus journeys, freezing rain, dark and intense cold, but still manages to write rapturously of the beauties of the Arctic'- The Economist

Buy The Library of Ice: Readings from a Cold Climate by Nancy Campbell from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781471169342
Format: Paperback / softback
(198mm x 130mm x 20mm)
Pages: 336
Imprint: Scribner UK
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
Publish Date: 31-Oct-2019
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - The Library of Ice: Readings from a Cold Climate by Nancy Campbell

Book Reviews - The Library of Ice: Readings from a Cold Climate by Nancy Campbell

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about The Library of Ice: Readings from a Cold Climate book by Nancy Campbell and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)


A Preview for this title is currently not available.