Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - The Mosquito Fleet by Lachlan Waterman

In 2021 and 2022 Carlton celebrates the 40th anniversary of their back-to-back triumphs...the ones forgotten about...
1983 ended a golden era for Carlton, winning three premierships in four years. Two failed September campaigns followed, and premiership coach David Parkin was sacked. This was a disturbing trend as bloodthirsty presidents demanded success.
Months after taking Carlton to the mountain top, Captain Coach Alex
Jesaulenko was caught in the crossfire of a brutal political scuttle, supporting longtime friend and incumbent President George Harris.
Both men were replaced. A staunch disciplinarian, Jesaulenko was a revelation as a coach, losing only three matches for the season. The team is dubbed 'The Mosquito Fleet', a group of small, sublimely skilled players that ran the opposition off their feet.
In 2021 and 2022 Carlton celebrates the 40th anniversary of their back-to-back triumphs. When the discussion about dynasties and golden era's, the Carlton sides from 1979 to 1982 rarely enter the conversation. The Blues won 78% of their matches and three titles in four seasons yet are often overlooked. Their breathtaking style of play and authenticity will long live in the memories of those who saw them play.

Buy The Mosquito Fleet by Lachlan Waterman from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781922594488
Format: Paperback / softback
(230mm x 150mm x mm)
Imprint: Shawline Publishing Group
Publisher: Shawline Publishing Group
Publish Date: 15-Sep-2021
Country of Publication: Australia

Book Reviews - The Mosquito Fleet by Lachlan Waterman

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about The Mosquito Fleet book by Lachlan Waterman and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

A Preview for this title is currently not available.