0

Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - The Price Of Immortality: The Race to Live Forever by Peter Ward

In the tradition of Jon Ronson and Tim Wu, an absorbing and revelatory journey intothe American Way of Defying Death . . .

As longevity medicine revolutionizes the lives of many older people, the quest to take the next step-to live as long as we choose-has spurred a scientific arms race in search of the elixir of life, funded by Big Tech and Silicon Valley.

Once the stuff of Mesopotamian mythology and episodes of Star Trek, the effort to make humans immortal is becoming increasingly credible as the pace of technological progress quickens. It has also empowered a wild-eyed fringe of pseudo-scientists, tech visionaries, scam-artists, and religious fanatics who have given their lives over to the pursuit of immortality.

Starting off at the Church of Perpetual Life in Florida and exploring the feuding subcultures around the cryonics industry, Peter Ward immerseshimself into an eccentric world of startups, scam artists, scientific institutions, and tech billionaires to deliver this deeply reported, nuanced, and sometimes very funny exploration of the race for immortality - and the potentially devastating consequences should humanity realize its ultimate dream.

Buy The Price Of Immortality: The Race to Live Forever by Peter Ward from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781612199528
Format: Hardback
(240mm x 160mm x mm)
Pages: 304
Imprint: Melville House Publishing
Publisher: Melville House Publishing
Publish Date: 19-Apr-2022
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - The Price Of Immortality: The Race to Live Forever by Peter Ward

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about The Price Of Immortality: The Race to Live Forever book by Peter Ward and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)


A Preview for this title is currently not available.