We are open but due to high demand and courier delays, delivery times are expected to be longer.
0

Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - The Sandpit by Nicholas Shakespeare

A sophisticated literary thriller in the vein of Le Carre and William Boyd involving the disappearance of a nuclear scientist in Oxford.

'A remarkable contemporary thriller - with shades of Graham Greene and Le Carre about it - but also a profound and compelling investigation of a hugely complex human predicament. Brilliantly observed, captivatingly written, grippingly narrated - a triumph' William Boyd

When John Dyer returns to Oxford from Brazil with his young son, he doesn't expect to find them both in danger. Every day is the same. He drops Leandro at his smart prep school and walks to the library to research his new book. His time living on the edge as a foreign correspondent in Rio is over.

But the rainy streets of this English city turn out to be just as treacherous as those he used to walk in the favelas. Leandro's schoolmates are the children of influential people, among them an international banker, a Russian oligarch, an American CIA operative and a British spook. As they congregate round the sports field for the weekly football matches, the network of alliances and covert interests that spreads between these power brokers soon becomes clear to Dyer,. But it is a chance conversation with an Iranian nuclear scientist, Rustum Marvar, father of a friend of Leandro, that sets him onto a truly precarious path.

When Marvar and his son disappear, several sinister factions seem acutely interested in Marvar's groundbreaking research at the Physics Faculty, and what he might have told Dyer about it, given Dyer was the last person to see Marvar alive.

Buy The Sandpit by Nicholas Shakespeare from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781787301771
Format: Paperback / softback
(234mm x 153mm x 153mm)
Pages: 448
Imprint: Harvill Secker
Publisher: Vintage Publishing
Publish Date: 23-Jul-2020
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - The Sandpit by Nicholas Shakespeare

Book Reviews - The Sandpit by Nicholas Shakespeare

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about The Sandpit book by Nicholas Shakespeare and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)


A Preview for this title is currently not available.