0

Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

We are open! For operations and delivery updates due to COVID-19. (click here)

Description - The Young Lion by Blanche d'Alpuget

The first book in the Birth of the Plantagenets series is sumptuous, rich historical fiction for fans of Wolf Hall and Game of Thrones.

Queen Eleanor of France, said to be the most beautiful woman in Europe, has not been able to give birth to an heir. A strategic liaison with Geoffrey the Handsome, the virile and charming Duke of Normandy, could remedy that - or lead to her downfall and Geoffrey's death.

What begins with cool calculation becomes a passionate affair. Despite his love for Eleanor, however, Geoffrey has larger plans: to help his warrior son, Henry, seize the English throne.

When Henry saves his father from discovery and execution by the French, he falls foul of Eleanor - and madly in love with her Byzantine maid. Should he become King of England, however, this dazzling woman will never be acceptable as his queen.

These intertwined relationships - heated, forbidden and perilous - are the heart of a vivid story of ambition, vengeance and political intrigue set in the glorious flowering of troubadour culture, mysticism and learning that is twelfth-century France.

Buy The Young Lion by Blanche d'Alpuget from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781925384758
Format: Paperback / softback
(234mm x 153mm x mm)
Pages: 432
Imprint: Ventura Press
Publisher: Ventura Press
Publish Date: 1-Dec-2018
Country of Publication: Australia

Book Reviews - The Young Lion by Blanche d'Alpuget

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about The Young Lion book by Blanche d'Alpuget and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)


A Preview for this title is currently not available.

Books By Blanche d'Alpuget

Bob Hawke: The Complete Biography by Blanche d'Alpuget
Hardback, December 2019
$50.99 $59.99
The Lion Rampant by Blanche d'Alpuget
Paperback / softback, December 2018
$28.04 $32.99
On Lust & Longing by Blanche d'Alpuget
Paperback / softback, January 2020
$14.44 $16.99
The Lioness Wakes by Blanche d'Alpuget
Paperback / softback, March 2020
$25.49 $29.99