0

Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Their Finest Hour and a Half by Lissa Evans

A black comedy about the making of a propaganda film in World War II, perfect for fans of Kate Atkinson

In 1940, every draft of every film script had to be approved by the Ministry of Information. Cast and crew were waiting to be called up at any moment, travel was restricted and filming was interrupted by regular bombing raids. And so it is that we find a disparate group of characters whose paths would never have crossed in peacetime- Ambrose Hilliard, a washed up old ham from the golden era of silent movies; Catrin Cole, formerly an advertising copywriter drafted in to 'write women' for the Ministry of Information; Edith Beadmore, a wardrobe assistant at Madame Tussauds; and Arthur Frith, peacetime catering manager turned wartime Special Military Advisor.

This distinct group find themselves thrown together in the wilds of Norfolk to 'do their bit' on the latest propaganda film - a heart-warming tale of derring do, of two sisters who set out in a leaking old wooden boat to rescue the brave men trapped at Dunkirk. All completely fabricated, of course, but what does that matter when the nation's morale is at stake? Newly crowned actor, script-writer, costumier and military attache must swallow their mutual distaste, ill-will and mistrust and unite for the common good, for King and country, and - in one case - for better or worse...

Buy Their Finest Hour and a Half by Lissa Evans from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780552774710
ISBN-10: 0552774715
Format: Paperback / softback
(198mm x 127mm x 26mm)
Pages: 416
Imprint: Black Swan
Publisher: Transworld Publishers Ltd
Publish Date: 1-Jan-2010
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - Their Finest Hour and a Half by Lissa Evans

Book Reviews - Their Finest Hour and a Half by Lissa Evans

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Their Finest Hour and a Half book by Lissa Evans and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)


Author Biography - Lissa Evans

After a brief career in medicine, and an even briefer one in stand-up, Lissa Evans became a comedy producer, first in radio and then in television. She co-created Room 101 with Nick Hancock, produced Father Ted and co-produced and directed The Kumars at Number 42. She lives in north London.

A Preview for this title is currently not available.