Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Three Crooked Kings by Matthew Condon

It was the genius of the system . . . From day to day you didn't know who was on the take or not. You didn't know who you could trust.' Three Crooked Kings is the shocking true story of Queensland and how a society was shaped by almost half a century of corruption. At its core is Terence Murray Lewis, deposed and jailed former police commissioner. From his entry into the force in 1949, Lewis rose through the ranks, becoming part of the so-called Rat Pack with detectives Glendon Patrick Hallahan and Tony Murphy under the guiding influence of Commissioner Frank Bischof. The next four decades make for a searing tale of cops and killings, bagmen and blackmail, and sin and sleaze that exposes a police underworld which operated from Queensland and into New South Wales. This gripping book exposes the final pieces of the puzzle, unearths new evidence on cold cases, and explores the pivotal role that whistleblower Shirley Brifman, prostitute and brothel owner, played until her sudden death. Based on extensive and unprecedented access to Terry Lewis and his personal papers, as well as hundreds of interviews with key players and conspirators, Three Crooked Kings is the first of two explosive books. Awarded journalist and novelist Matthew Condon has crafted the definitive account of an era that changed a state and is still reverberating to this day.

Buy Three Crooked Kings by Matthew Condon from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780702238918
ISBN-10: 0702238910
Format: Paperback / softback
(228mm x 154mm x 25mm)
Pages: 352
Imprint: University of Queensland Press
Publisher: University of Queensland Press
Publish Date: 26-Feb-2013
Country of Publication: Australia

Other Editions - Three Crooked Kings by Matthew Condon

Book Reviews - Three Crooked Kings by Matthew Condon

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Three Crooked Kings book by Matthew Condon and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Author Biography - Matthew Condon

Matthew Condon is the author of ten books of fiction, most recently The Trout Opera, and the non-fiction book Brisbane.

A Preview for this title is currently not available.

Customers Also Bought

Boomerang Books customers who bought Three Crooked Kings by Matthew Condon also bought the following titles:

Game Theory by Barry Jonsberg
Paperback / softback, May 2016
$16.99 $19.99
One Step at a Time by Jane Jolly
Hardback, March 2015
$23.79 $27.99
Crown by Kiera Cass
Paperback / softback, April 2016
$14.44 $16.99
Jacks And Jokers by Matthew Condon
Paperback / softback, March 2014
$28.01 $32.95

Books By Matthew Condon

All Fall Down by Matthew Condon
Paperback / softback, September 2015
$28.01 $32.95
The Night Dragon by Matthew Condon
Paperback / softback, March 2019
$28.01 $32.95
Brisbane by Matthew Condon
Hardback, August 2010
$25.49 $29.99
Little Fish Are Sweet by Matthew Condon
Paperback / softback, October 2016
$28.01 $32.95