We are open! For operations and delivery updates due to COVID-19. (click here)
0

Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - What It Is: Race, Family, and One Thinking Black Man's Blues by Clifford Thompson

In the tradition of James Baldwin's The Fire Next Time and Ta-Nehisi Coates's Between the World and Me comes Clifford Thompson's What It Is. Thompson was raised to believe in treating every person of every color as an individual, and he decided as a young man that America, despite its history of racial oppression, was his home as much as anyone else's. As a middle-aged, happily married father of biracial children, Thompson finds himself questioning his most deeply held convictions when the race-baiting Donald Trump ascends to the presidency--elected by whites, whom Thompson had refused to judge as a group, and who make up the majority in this country Thompson had called his own.

In the grip of contradictory emotions, Thompson turns for guidance to the wisdom of writers he admires while knowing that the answers to his questions about America ultimately lie in America itself. Through interviews with a small but varied group of Americans he hears sharply divergent opinions about what is happening in the country while trying to find his own answers--conclusions based not on conventional wisdom or on what he would like to believe, but on what he sees.

Buy What It Is: Race, Family, and One Thinking Black Man's Blues by Clifford Thompson from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781590519059
Format: Paperback / softback
(190mm x 127mm x mm)
Pages: 160
Imprint: Other Press LLC
Publisher: Other Press LLC
Publish Date: 12-Nov-2019
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - What It Is: Race, Family, and One Thinking Black Man's Blues by Clifford Thompson

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about What It Is: Race, Family, and One Thinking Black Man's Blues book by Clifford Thompson and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)


A Preview for this title is currently not available.