0

Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Widowland by C J Carey

'READING THIS TERRIFIC, ORWELLIAN NOVEL YOU ALMOST HOLD YOUR BREATH' Bel Mooney

An alternative history with a strong feminist twist, perfect for fans of Robert Harris' Fatherland, Christina Dalcher's Vox and the dystopian novels of Margaret Atwood.

'A TRIUMPH' Amanda Craig

'CONVINCING AND GRIPPING' Elizabeth Buchan

'BRILLIANTLY IMAGINED' Clare Chambers

'TERRIFIC HEROINE' Adele Geras

'VIVIDLY IMAGINED' Nicci French

To control the past, they edited history. To control the future, they edited literature.

London, 1953, Coronation year - but not the Coronation of Elizabeth II.

Thirteen years have passed since a Grand Alliance between Great Britain and Germany was formalized. George VI and his family have been murdered and Edward VIII rules as King. Yet, in practice, all power is vested in Alfred Rosenberg, Britain's Protector. The role and status of women is Rosenberg's particular interest.

Rose Ransom belongs to the elite caste of women and works at the Ministry of Culture, rewriting literature to correct the views of the past. But now she has been given a special task.

Outbreaks of insurgency have been seen across the country; graffiti daubed on public buildings. Disturbingly, the graffiti is made up of lines from forbidden works, subversive words from the voices of women. Suspicion has fallen on Widowland, the run-down slums where childless women over fifty have been banished. These women are known to be mutinous, for they have nothing to lose.

Before the Leader arrives for the Coronation ceremony of King Edward and Queen Wallis, Rose must infiltrate Widowland to find the source of this rebellion and ensure that it is quashed.

'THE MOST IMPORTANT FEMINIST NOVEL IN DECADES' Jane Harris

'A VERY SMART REIMAGINED HISTORY' Henry Porter

'BRIMMING WITH CRACKLING DETAIL, A GRIPPING THRILLER' Miranda Carter

Buy Widowland by C J Carey from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781529411997
Format: Paperback / softback
(232mm x 152mm x 34mm)
Pages: 400
Imprint: Quercus Publishing
Publisher: Quercus Publishing
Publish Date: 10-Jun-2021
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - Widowland by C J Carey

Book Reviews - Widowland by C J Carey

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Widowland book by C J Carey and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)


A Preview for this title is currently not available.