0

Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - The Wild Ones by Jeff Mack

For fans of Warriors, Spirit Animals, and Redwall--the next great animal fantasy adventure is here!

Kit is a young raccoon who has lived his whole life under the Big Sky. But when a pack of hunting dogs destroy his home and kill his parents, Kit needs to escape.

He finds himself in Ankle Snap Alley, a city in the midst of a turf war between the Wild Ones and the people's pets who call themselves The Flealess. There he uncovers the secret that they died for--an ancient truce that gives Ankle Snap Alley to the Wild Ones. But the Flealess will stop at nothing to keep that secret buried forever, and Kit is in serious danger. Only the brave of heart and quick of paw can save the Wild Ones now.

Perfect for fans of the Warriors, Spirit Animals, or Redwall series, this first book in the Wild Ones epic is sure capture young readers' imaginations and take them on a great adventure.

Praise for The Wild Ones-

* "The action is fast-paced, the dialogue hilarious, and the supporting characters true to their animal personalities. Animal fantasy lovers will frequently chuckle; younger children may enjoy hearing the book read aloud."--School Library Connection *STARRED REVIEW*

"Raccoon hero Kit and his ragtag community of creatures will sneak their way into your imagination and steal your heart. They may pick your pocket, too, but they'll take you on an adventure you won't soon forget. This is a fantasy that kids will adore (and quick-of-paw parents will steal). A wild ride from a wildly imaginative author."--Katherine Applegate, Newbery Medal-winning author of The One and Only Ivan and the bestselling Animorphs series

"Bold deeds, betrayals, and buffoonery kick off this series with gusto."--Kirkus Reviews

"The sharp, lively descriptions ('like dynamite in a silk purse') shine while the exhilarating finale illustrates that home is wherever your 'howl to snap' friends live."--Publishers Weekly

"Readers will root for Kit as he tangles with scoundrels, liars, and even a hungry crocodile....A promising new series for fans of animal adventure."--School Library Journal

"With rich vocabulary, a satisfying quest, and some dastardly villains, this will be an easy pick for middle-graders who love animal adventure stories."--Booklist

Buy The Wild Ones by Jeff Mack from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780399170997
ISBN-10: 0399170995
Format: Board book
(215mm x 148mm x 24mm)
Pages: 256
Imprint: Philomel Books,U.S.
Publisher: Penguin Putnam Inc
Publish Date: 15-Jan-2017
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - The Wild Ones by Jeff Mack

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Wild Ones book by Jeff Mack and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)


Author Biography - Jeff Mack

C. Alexander London (www.calexanderlondon.com) is the author of Proxy and Guardian, and the middle grade series The Accidental Adventures, Dog Tags, and Tides of War. A former journalist and children's librarian, Alex is now a full time writer in Philadelphia. You can follow him on Twitter at @ca_london.

A Preview for this title is currently not available.

Books By Jeff Mack

Duck on a Disco Ball by Jeff Mack
Hardback, November 2018
$29.69 $32.99
Things I Can Do by Jeff Mack
Hardback, May 2017
$25.49 $29.99
Playtime? by Jeff Mack
Hardback, August 2016
$25.49 $29.99
Look! by Jeff Mack
Hardback, May 2015
$16.99 $19.99