Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - The World Goes On by Laszlo Krasznahorkai

A Hungarian interpreter obsessed with waterfalls, at the edge of the abyss in his own mind, wanders the chaotic streets of Shanghai. A traveller, reeling from the sights and sounds of Varanasi, encounters a giant of a man on the banks of the Ganges ranting on the nature of a single drop of water. A child labourer in a Portuguese marble quarry wanders off from work one day into a surreal realm utterly alien from his daily toils.

In The World Goes On, a narrator first speaks directly, then tells twenty-one unforgettable stories, and then bids farewell ('for here I would leave this earth and these stars, because I would take nothing with me'). As Laszlo Krasznahorkai himself explains: 'Each text is about drawing our attention away from this world, speeding our body toward annihilation, and immersing ourselves in a current of thought or a narrative...'

The World Goes On is another masterpiece by the winner of the 2015 Man Booker International Prize. 'The excitement of his writing,' Adam Thirlwell proclaimed in the New York Review of Books, 'is that he has come up with his own original forms - there is nothing else like it in contemporary literature.'

Buy The World Goes On by Laszlo Krasznahorkai from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781788160117
ISBN-10: 1788160118
Format: Hardback
(222mm x 144mm x 30mm)
Pages: 320
Imprint: Profile Books Ltd
Publisher: Profile Books Ltd
Publish Date: 2-Nov-2017
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - The World Goes On by Laszlo Krasznahorkai

Book Reviews - The World Goes On by Laszlo Krasznahorkai

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about World Goes On book by Laszlo Krasznahorkai and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Author Biography - Laszlo Krasznahorkai

Laszlo Krasznahorkai was born in Gyula, Hungary, in 1954. He has written five novels and won numerous prizes, including the International Man Booker Prize 2015, 2013 Best Translated Book Award in Fiction for Satantango, and 1993 Best Book of the Year Award in Germany for The Melancholy of Resistance. For more about Krasznahorkai, visit his extensive website:

Books By Laszlo Krasznahorkai

Melancholy of Resistance by Laszlo Krasznahorkai
Paperback / softback, May 2016
$17.99 $19.99
Seiobo There Below by Laszlo Krasznahorkai
Paperback / softback, May 2016
$17.99 $19.99
Satantango by Laszlo Krasznahorkai
Paperback / softback, July 2013
$17.99 $19.99
Last Wolf & Herman by Laszlo Krasznahorkai
Paperback / softback, January 2018
$17.99 $19.99